www.flickr.com

Latestest

This can usually be found on Twitter.

Wednesday, June 04, 2008

 
Nice day

Yeah, surprisingly, eh? After yesterday was such a complete, painful waste, today was enthusiastically pleasant. To begin with, morning was torrid and without life, and I limped into work a little later than usual (but not the foobar that was yesterday). Had a McBreakfast on the way in, and promised myself yet again that I would resort to such horrible means to obtain nutrition in the mornings. Had a late, lazy lunch consequently, which was very nice and oily. (Dinner, if you're curious, was Subway, one of them low-fat subs, delivered to the office by the Boss himself, which was very nice).

While most of today was spent thinking things and putting bits into place, evening and night got very exciting as the final bits of Document.pm and Page.pm came together. Somewhere around six, enough of the code was done that simple upload could be tested. And it was! Much bugfixing later, it worked to a surprisingly large degree, everything sliding perfectly into place and working like a dream! I was so pleased. And then the fun really began.

Let's see: walked to the MRT station, singing loudly as I am wont to do (managed to make it all the way, onto the station, and I think most of the way home singing only Beatles songs. Yum!). The train was crowed, but atleast the airconditioning was working (unlike the morning's train), and it was a smooth ride home. Ice cream. Home. At home, I turned on NGE (so far tonight, I've seen episodes 17:Fourth Children, 18:Ambivalence, 19:Introjection and a part - but hopefully not all! - of 20:Weaving A Story 2: Oral Stage). Somewhere in between I went onto World of Warcraft, where there were huge groups of people, and I had a good time spelunking for quest articles with another elf. My best WoW experience so far!

The bad news - lab stuff. Ugh, ugh, ugh. I don't want to think about it, I want to sleep, to forget, to move on. I hate having multiple things happening all around me for no reason. Ugh, ugh, ugh, no more, no more. Good heavens.

Right now, I figure, I figure I'll do it tomorrow, but I won't. Let's see.

Labels: , ,

This post was posted by Unknown at 1:55 am | 0 comments | Post a Comment

Sunday, June 01, 2008

 
So I've bought NGE (at long last)

Not my fault, is hard to find. Am vaguely impressed that when I finally bought a copy, it was a strange experience of ending up at the store after closing and buying the last copy off the shelves, when I only ended up going to Jurong Point because the dining-in facilities at the Bukit Batok Pizza Hut had closed for the weekend. So it was pretty unexpected all-in-all.

Good things: the price (dead cheap, 49 SGD for the entire TV series and both movies), and - well - Eva! In all it's brain curdling mind fucking brilliance. Oh dear lord.

Bad things: subtitling pretty rotten (I think it's been translated via Chinese), occasional typing mistakes, titles sometimes not translated, et al. And the main menu is entirely in Chinese, so it's kinda hard to figure out what clicking on different things will do.

Good thing, bad thing? I'd vote for Good - I get all my brainfuck, and can go several more years without actually buying the darned thing. Considering how much of a brainfuck this is - I mean, Brazil, the other bf movie I like, doesn't even come close - I think it should keep me going for quite a while.

Question: when is next at-work Eva marathon? Questions, questions, questions!

Labels: , ,

This post was posted by Unknown at 11:48 pm | 0 comments | Post a Comment

Thursday, March 27, 2008

 
God's in his heaven, all's right with the world

Atleast, you know, lately. I mean today. It was a good day. Just as I got up on the wrong side of the bed yesterday, today I got up on the right side of the bed, and that means everything's been wonderful today in general. Productive was up - not as good as I'd like it to be, true; but a whole lot better than it's been lately, which is a good thing. I didn't study GRE today - no surprise there, alas. I desperately need to catch up. The Pretender episode I'm watching isn't that great (although Miss Parker had a narrow episode-save just there).

I'm in one of my Eva moods again (because of the movie, no doubt). I really need to buy that stuff so I can satisfy those cravings! But imagine how much time I'd waste in such cravings? Bear in mind that the entire Neon Genesis Evangelion corpus extends over 25 hours, including Death and EoE.

Labels: , , ,

This post was posted by Unknown at 12:02 am | 4 comments | Post a Comment

Thursday, August 23, 2007

 
The Simpsons Movie

I finally got the see the Simpsons movie yesternight, and man is it something. Very cool. Very, very cool. I liked. Lots of nice little references (did you catch the ambulance at Springfield Gorge?), nice sentimental moments, and it was so much fun to see all the "ol' friends". Such a pity that the late, great Troy McLure couldn't be around. Still, everybody else gets an appearance (did you notice that bum who created Itchy and Scratchy in the crowd heading towards the Simpson's house?), and there's plenty of good laughs to go around.

Watching it in the theatre was a fun experience unto itself, with huge rolls of laughter at some of the jokes. My seat was right between two couples: the one on my left would laugh along with the crowd - and seemed particularly amused at the cartoon violence, and the one on my right - two women - would rather oddly "ooh" and "*gasp*!" every time something violent happened to someone, which - considering that this is the Simpsons - happened very frequently. That was particularly brilliant: Scratchy is hugely engorged by a flotilla of missles, everybody laughs, the lady one place to my right goes "oooh!". Totally brought a huge new perspective to the show!

It's also reassuring to know that I'm not the only one who saw traces of NGE in the movie. Must watch Ratatouille when it comes out - they were showing a trailer, I swear you can see each and every hair. The rendering, the colours, the perspectives are all fantastic. If that acting is anything comparable, they'll really have a classic there.

Labels: , , ,

This post was posted by Unknown at 7:20 pm | 0 comments | Post a Comment

Wednesday, January 03, 2007

 
Evangelion tidbit

Nice analysis of the Episodes 25 and 26/End of Evangelion question (Future proof!)

Labels:

This post was posted by Unknown at 2:33 pm | 0 comments | Post a Comment

 
Might as well

I was just about to get up and go back home, but I figured there's very little chance I'll blog once I get back home, and do have stuff I want to write about. So.

New Year's Day couldn't be better, in my humble opinion. Woke up late-ish. Hung around until Viks came over, then him, me and Atiyab watched Neon Genesis Evangelion from about 5:30pm to about 6:30am the next morning. Good times. We cracked open (with great difficulty; let it be recorded that Atiyab made the final, successful assault) a very nice Australian Shiraz wine at midnight; it was pretty heavily alcoholic (14%, I think), but the taste was brilliant. Eva was fun as always, and this is the first time I got to watch the whole series in one shot, and it was good to see the first sunrise of 2007 before going to sleep.

We got two days off (Monday, Jan 1, for New Years', and Tuesday, Jan 2, because Hari Raya Haji fell on Dec 31, and was pushed on), but I didn't know that, and was very pissed off with how late I came in today. Luckily, I didn't need to come in on time at all!

Unfortunately, seeing how I'm blogging at 12:16am, before a 40 minute walk back home, it doesn't look like tomorrow is going to be all that early either. Sigh.

Had a nice chat with home on Sunday night. I think everybody was pretty relieved to be out of this year, and only moderately apprehensive about the next, which was nice. We talked about my blood tests, and what comes next, and so on. Pretty nice. A lot of (moderately) old friends seem to be popping out of the woodwork as well. Also, this is the year I apply places, etc.! How exciting.

Chatted with Rohit today, which was nice. He's a great source of information on 'merican graduate schools, having been there, done that. Surprisingly enough, he took my suggestion, and visited the zoo. Odd, that. Still, his social life is improving, so what can I say, but all the best?

There was something else ... sigh. There's too much else. I need to respond to one of Rivka's posts on languages and intergenerational communication. I know what that feels like!

I have 36 tabs open in Opera, quite astounding. I'm impressed. And it's 12:30am. I'm outta here. I just needed to record that my health was okayish, life could be (much, much) worse, and things are hopefully just going to get more interesting (with a new UROPS I'm involved with, WebAdmin training going strong, and no end of new year resolution flying about like so much dust in the air).

So, err, yeah. Let's see.

Labels: , ,

This post was posted by Unknown at 12:08 am | 0 comments | Post a Comment