This can usually be found on Twitter.
Less than a week after Apple finally acknowledges the NVidia graphics problem bug, my laptop starts showing signs of a relapse. Luckily, the 'hold-down-T-while-booting-then-reboot' thing worked now, but who knows for how long? Brr, scary.
On the good side, my last Twitter read: Finished Gears Of War, a bit of Half Life 2, bought newly released Saramago book and two others, ate three Ramlys, and soon will chill out with pizza and BSG. Not a bad weekend! The BSG didn't happen, but I saw American Beauty for the first time since 2004 (maybe), which is awesome. I remember how awestruck I was by it then; it's easy to feel that way about something again. No, it's unusual; which is why its ease is impressive.
Ah, well. Whatever. I call home now, then bed, then a very stressful week ahead. PaperTerminal Alpha FTW!
Labels: good weekend, stress
This post was posted by Unknown at 11:46 pm | 0 comments | Post a Comment
As far as I'm concerned, the primary difference between "strain" and "stress" is that stress is when you're worried, now, and are aware that the stress will end eventually (whether by your body and brain just "shutting down", or by someone falling out of an apartment building, depends on your interpretation). Strain, on the other hand, is what happens when you're stressed out and you know it's not going to end any time soon.
Long day today. After much cool dreamings (see post!), was awoken at two for our quarterly month cleaning, which was a huge success. I was tempted to take "after" photos: it's extremely unlikely we'll ever have things this sparkling clean again. Why? Because we're moving out in early December, it seems. Early December! This means the househunt begins again, and you remember how painful it was the last time around. You don't? That's cool, I'm sure it's in this blog somewhere. Time to practice your 733t G00g7e s[i11s!
Er, hmm. In other news, my parents are now sliding into some sort of super OMG-WE'RE-WORRIED-(but-don't-let-that-worry-or-pressure-you-tee-hee)-BUT-YOU-HAVE-TO-GET-A-JOB-ALREADY-BCOS-WHAT-ARE-YOU-GOING-TO-DO-WITH-YOUR-LIFE-OMG-OMG-OMG mode (I'm sure parents have a better name for this). Which means they intrude into what I have come to quaintly refer to as my "personal" life. Which, as you may be aware, is a move of sheer genius-like proportions, since the only thing I'd hate more than an uncomfortable life is to have aforementioned uncomfortable life intruded on upon. So, hmm. Interesting week again. If things go as I suspect they will, I might have to take up smoking. It is the number one way of "dealing with stressful situations" amongst my friends, apparently. Although if I had to pick a vice, it would have to be alcohol (massive consummation of sugar is NOT a vice. It is merely "no way to lead your life").
So I'm using lots of inverted commas this afternoon. I'm stressed. And likely to remain so for a while. I'm sorry. Deal.
Labels: jobhunting, life, stress
This post was posted by Unknown at 5:18 am | 0 comments | Post a Comment
Yes, I know, I know, lots of angsty posts recently. I'm sorry, and I really hope that as things change, this is going to come down slightly, although I don't right now have the slightest clue how things much change, or in what way, or with what cause. But I suppose if I knew, it wouldn't really be a surprise now, would it?
That is I think one good thing about getting bored: eventually, some deep-seated survival instinct kicks in and you start trying out new things, just to escape from the brain-numbing boredom of what is. Anything, anyhow. I suppose in my case I'm waiting for the 21st now; whether things really change, and how much they change, doesn't really matter: the psychological milestone of finishing with the latest spate of deadlines will be enough for me. I guess the idea is something like: normally, I should be slowing myself down, so I'm just overworking and overstressing myself here. But since I've only got a week to go, I'm just sort of running myself into the ground, since I'm this close to getting out anyway.
Of course, I'm not, not really. Neither this close, nor actually 'running myself into ...', etc. I'm just stressed, and tired, and sleepy, and my sleep schedule is whacked, and I don't really have anything to do when I am awake.
Other than that, everything's A-okay.
Labels: bored, stress, tired, today
This post was posted by Unknown at 7:42 am | 0 comments | Post a Comment
Seriously. Sleep was shot through most of it (although there was a bit of a recovery late in the week -- to the point where I came in super-late on Thursday because I found myself sleeping so enjoyably! -- and throughout it all, problems, problems, problems. It's not just the residual stress of honours coming up, neither; it just seemed to be one of those weeks everything just goes down the drain in. As a certain e-mail I got six hours ago only confirms. Ugh, ugh, ugh. So stress.
This post was posted by Unknown at 7:40 am | 0 comments | Post a Comment