This can usually be found on Twitter.
Hmm. It's almost two a.m., I'm procrastinating this last bit of homework I've got and a bunch of lecture slides I should go through before the workshop tomorrow; stuff's all printed out, but I don't know how I'm going to get up in time and find a cab and then rush down with everything I need ...
Yep, that's it. This is exactly like being an undergrad again.
Updated 4:15am 2009-04-04: And once again, spreadsheets - this time, the lovely Numbers - to the rescue. Hooray. Time for bed.
This post was posted by Unknown at 1:50 am | 0 comments | Post a Comment
Woke up with the most massive eyebags. Ah, well.
Not entirely sure how to proceed. I could work on the Test Anything Protocol spec for a while. Or on either Singapore.pm or my own much-neglected website. But I don't feel like working, especially not on a computer. Even I need some kind of break!
Other option: play Half Life 2. Yech. So boring. And besides, I'd like to conserve my "Xbox muscles" for playing Bioshock tonight.
So how? The weather's fine, I could go out photographing or something. Or just go for a walk. Or go and check out the photo exhibitions or something. Sigh.
Okay, time to reboot and turn off computer. I'll probably be back in the afternoon/evening sometime.
Dreamed of her again. Also: parents. Also: a beach. Something horrible happened, but I don't remember it at all.
Labels: dreams, morning, plans, today
This post was posted by Unknown at 12:01 pm | 0 comments | Post a Comment
We have toilet problems. I hate toilet problems - with my digestive system, I can't afford not to. Grr, argh, and other uncomfortable sounds, in any order you please.
In other news: finished Portal, the "Water Hazard" chapter of Half Life 2, and (yesterday) Act III of Gears of War. Productive holiday? Nup. Fun? Except for the toilet issue - hell yeah.
This post was posted by Unknown at 11:48 pm | 0 comments | Post a Comment
First time in a long time I've had an "appropiate" dream (and not a "bad" dream, either! A first from since Saturday or something). Apart from the current ongoing family drama, the overall theme seemed to be a general lack of interesting women. My stomach shows no sign of getting better, which is (obviously) worrying - as is the fact that the pain seems to come and go. An ulcer? God, I hope not. Well, on to the day, let's see how this turns out.
Labels: dreams, stomach, today
This post was posted by Unknown at 9:47 am | 0 comments | Post a Comment
Since I'm stuck at home, without much to do (without much I want to do, truth be told), this really is the perfect time to catch up on my blogging. Especially what with Blogspot's new interface and all that.
But really: other than my Pune article cleanup being finished, what have I to report? I'm really just looking forward to, in chronological order:
For now, I'm going to go give The Sims 2 another try.
This post was posted by Unknown at 3:11 pm | 0 comments | Post a Comment
It seems like forever since I last really achieved something. I suppose programming achievements don't count; they aren't real, they don't matter. Like all programming, it's just scribbling with chalk on clouds of thoughts, or something therelike.
The biggest problem of a lack of achievement is getting to sleep at night: your body wants you to, your mind wants you to, but something inside you says that as long as you're awake, the day is not wasted; there might be more happening, if you can just stay awake ten more minutes, there might be one e-mail sent (or received), one phone call or SMS arriving, something - anything! - which will make your last 15 hours on earth worthwhile in some small, but locally significant, way.
This almost never happens.
Phrase of the week: It's turned out nice again! Lovely.
Labels: boredom, pointlessness, today, underachievement
This post was posted by Unknown at 12:17 am | 0 comments | Post a Comment
The day started out rotten, then gently improved to "aight" and "okay" rating or thereabouts. Which is, you know, perfectly fine by me I guess. I've got more chores now - chores! Sigh.
My copy of the PBF Comics Book came in today; it's really pretty funny! Lots of the nasty humour which typifies the website.
I'm sleepy, so off I'll go, but if you have the time, read the famous Great Outdoor Fight arc on Achewood: you won't be disappointed!
Labels: bored, rotten, sleepy, today
This post was posted by Unknown at 2:24 am | 1 comments | Post a Comment
Today's lunch was one of the best I've ever had in Singapore. It was beautiful, delicious, perfect, and well-priced to boot. Imagine: boneless chicken in a smooth, makhani curry; boiled egg in curry; rajma in its own, slightly sweet, curry; and - the piece de resistance! - a simple fish curry which enflamed the palate and reminded one of the Great Fish Curries of the Malabar and the Bengal! It was too, too much; I enjoyed it with much relish and a Coke Lime. Delicious!
I'm in big trouble tomorrow; I need to wake up at 9am because the handyman's coming at 9:30am, and it's now 3:15! And I'm underslept as is! Oh me, oh my. Nasty stuff. Can't begin to express how much Thursday's public holiday is going to be a boon for me.
Labels: delicious, lunch, staying up late, today
This post was posted by Unknown at 3:16 am | 0 comments | Post a Comment
As I am sleepy, that will be all. As of right now, a documentary on the 1986 Aeroméxico Flight 498 plane crash over Los Angeles is on National Geographic.
Labels: david baddiel, today, tv
This post was posted by Unknown at 12:55 am | 0 comments | Post a Comment
Am trying to slowly slide my wake-up time earlier and earlier. The plot is to get up earlier, get moving earlier, so I can get home earlier, giving me a larger block of time to do whatever I want in, and more flexibility at the end of the day to meet that deadline. This week so far has been crazy: I've been barely squeezing in everything I have to do (except for the little bits which ooze out through the cracks) while also trying to do this Grand Transform (and what's the point, really, may I ask? One weekend day getting home late and it'll be blown to bits, I can promise you that).
As asides: Facebook comic one, Facebook comic two (NSFW!), and a TV show I thoroughly enjoyed as a kid. Those were the days! School sucked, though. And the independence at present in very nice. And no internet! I promised myself I wouldn't be one of those "Ah school I loved school!" type people, and this is my way of making up for it.
Labels: crystal maze, ramblings, time, today
This post was posted by Unknown at 12:12 am | 0 comments | Post a Comment
Today was a shockingly good day, which is why I bother at all. Spoiled somewhat by the ending (brave insecticide-assisted take over of singular - but humongous! - roachian adversary; for the first time, the vile forces of the Enemy having scaled the walls and assaulted directly upon the second floor. Not the first time ever, of course: reports of previous assaults being widely known and publicised at the times. But the first time I've faced this creature alone, and the first time in my bathroom and in a singular assault upon me! But the bravery was not mine alone; the insecticide, in there was the magic; I was a humble servant only. My bravery it is not shall we say very brave at all; not against insectile aggressors as the aforementioned).
So anyways; day was noticable for the beginnings of a rhythm likely to continue for a while; the passage of weeks and of Saturday; and of trips and friends and walks. And food! Good food. Mmmm. Also equally important the getting out there and exploring observing arriving departing lounging. Chatting is/was also nice. And looking forward to work on Monday! (yes well okay partially 'cos of new iPod hopefully arriving soon; but hey you know whenever whatever still ah still its nice to buy yourself things sometimes you feel happy important etc no not that that would be over the top don't you think?)
This post was posted by Unknown at 4:29 am | 0 comments | Post a Comment
Seriously, though. Seriously.
I really wish I could do this with punctuation and everything but my stupid keyboard etc you know the drill so no. Only fullstops. This is going to be all José Saramago and everything. Today was a really nice day not because anything special happened in it - nothing did - but because everything which happened what little that did happen happened nicely mostly well it's like this I got up on time or surprisingly close to I had a nice bath and a nice shave and I was a little late because I don't like using the toilets at work but there you go I wasn't very late and after a mostly unpunctual last week being anywhere near on time was nice. Also I was the first one into office which is always pretty nice just by itself too.
Work hmm what can I say work isn't quite as exciting this week as it was last week because we're sort of waiting on everybody at the moment. Which is nice mind as it gives me time to finish off a couple of tasks I'd hate to leave standing but it's still a pain. For instance I was in late today because I had to force myself to finish something; tomorrow is going to be even worse in that regard but once I finish it it'll be DONE which by itself is a great consolation a great and wonderful thing to know. I did get to fool around with some APIs which is always a little arsebackwards but there you go I suppose when you approach problems the way I do it is to be expected.
The big surprise for today was I went onto Flickr just before leaving work - or so I thought! My total photostream views were around 9,600-odd (aha! commas!) so I was really looking forward until it hit the big 10k. So you can imagine my surprise - nay! shock! horror! awe! - when I saw that my photostream count was at 10,[456?]00-odd! Unbelieveable! Such a huge jump? I quickly traced it to one fairly lacklustre photo (of the Joo Chiat complex lit up for Hari Raya last year) although I still have no idea why anybody would be looking at that photo or why anyone might possibly want to link to it! It's still very extremely odd. Anyway since then my photostream views has gone up to 11,349 views while that one photo has 1,915 views. Not much by Flickr standards of course but unbelievable for a little not-even-minor-league photographer like me.
So yeah either that or I dunno just the weather or something put me into a really good mood thereafter maybe y'know come to think of it it might be the lack of sleep from yesterday night yeah that's possible well something in any case put me into a really nice frame of mind and I found myself singing all the way home then having several nice conversations without being an asshole then watching TV and playing Sims and now look here I am going to sleep. Can't wait until I get paid it'll be nice to not have to run around behind my cash and to be able to buy a few little things to make things easier another shirt even a nice T-shirt maybe a music player I dunno get my phone fixed y'know that sort of thing yeah that sort of thing would be really really nice.
So okay off to sleep now kthxbai!
Labels: flickr, fun, good day, Jose Saramago, today
This post was posted by Unknown at 2:38 am | 1 comments | Post a Comment
So many things, so little time!
Saturday was nice, atleast in the sense that it was relaxing (slept until 2pm), laid back (did very little but watch TV and play computer games afterwards), and interesting (until we went to Clementi to get food, ate some very nice donoughts, and after getting back helped a small group of kids destroy a pool table maybe), and even more so a good way to start Sunday (saw an "Alexander" documentary until 3am, and played tons of The Sims 2 before and during that).
Only major change to report: thanks to all the fuss (and with a little help from a friend, also known as one of the few browsers which almost-effortlessly handles the strain of selecting 5,216 photographs in Flickr's Organizr), I've decided to go back to a full "All Rights Reserved" copyright license for all my Flickr photographs. While I fully agree that the photographer only licensed the use of his photo for any purpose (with attribution), assuming the user follows all other legal rules (including use of underage photographs, of women not wearing burqas f'instance, and - oh yeah - model release), I've got photos of friends and relatives up there, as well as random people off the street (not necessarily creepy voyeuristic photography, though: these guys not only walked into my frame, but were very aware I was photographing them), and I'd hate for any of them to be caught in this situation because of my beliefs viz-a-viz copyleft and all that jazz.
Hopefully, I'll move nice and non-controversial photos back onto CC-Attribution sometime, but seeing the vast numbers of untagged, barely titled photos I have, I wouldn't bed on it.
Haha, bet on it, not bed on it. I suppose this is a sign I should be heading to bed. Just barely enough time for a quick shower before hitting the sack maybe?
Labels: fun, licensing, photos, today
This post was posted by Unknown at 3:04 am | 0 comments | Post a Comment
So, what's on television this weekend? My Best Friend's Wedding (IMDB: 6.2), She's The Man (IMDB: 6.5), and The Stranger Beside Me (IMDB: 6.3). I'm watching the last one, 'cos it's all exciting and stuff. But the Mrs. Rule character is getting on my nerves a bit, she's so incredibly defensive all the time. There's no joking with that (fictional) woman. Maybe I'll switch over to MBFW later. Anything but Ms. Bynes, even if she's backed by the incomparable Mr. Shakespeare.
In other news, I ended up watching Enough, which I find hilarious for all the wrong reasons, and Just Friends, which kinda made up for the others because Ryan Reynolds is always fun to watch. It also has a tense prefinale climax, and a really good sequence with reindeer. The ending is also hopelessly adorable in its predictability.
I have irresistable writing urges, which will probably be de facto resisted anyway. Hmmm. Saddening, that. Should be plenty of time to develop the creative urges and all that, no? Pshaw. On the better side, movies aside, I've had a very nice evening so far, with a lot of fun The Sims 2 playtime. So I guess it (for different values of "it") can't be all that bad.
This post was posted by Unknown at 9:19 pm | 0 comments | Post a Comment
So, here we are!
My new job is turning out very nicely thus far. They're a great bunch of people to work for, work is interesting and (so far) relatively stress free. Mostly, right now, I love getting to learn and study and work on C# on somebody else's money; next week, what I learn will (hopefully) net dividends are Work begins! It's nice being productive again.
Speaking of productivity, my Flickr account is feeling incredibly happy, having being refresh by some, then a few, and finally a lot of photos. Check them out! I'm also going through my London/Greenwich/Windsor/Bath/Leicester/Birmingham photos, trying to atleast title all of 'em. Once that's done, I'll think about doing all the others. Total photograph counts have now surpassed 5,000. I'm so impressed with myself.
Oh, and selfadolation has now hit a new high: my Google Desktop at work now rotates through my photos. I'd do my contacts' photos, but then I'd be tempted to click-in and comment; this way, the urges are kept at a low ebb.
I'm still desperately searching for a hobby; my teach-myself-to-play-piano plan has received unexpected encouragement, and there's some new and interesting meetup.com groups appearing - which I can go to again, now that I have set working hours again! Luckily, tonight was not a complete waste like yesterday: Lord of War was on TV tonight, and as that's one of my favourite movies, it gave me something enjoyable to do; but it's fast approaching my bedtime, and the "not-doing-something-involved-and-fulfilling" thing is getting on my nerves.
Grumble mumble sigh sigh.
Labels: grumble, job, photography, photos, today
This post was posted by Unknown at 10:21 pm | 0 comments | Post a Comment
I love my dreamings. The sheer vastness and variety always startles me on waking up. Just now, I dreamed (in approximately accurate order) about my mother, a tution teacher (which one?), my friend, my grandmum, sister, and her friend, my friend's brother, a party, and (therefore) several people I've never met before. And I'm pretty sure I've forgotten some bits in between.
Yesterday's dreams were at an equivalent level of craziness, I think, but can't be sure. I'm sure I've dreamt of my dead aunt in the last week sometime. And the main thing that got this post going was this strange entirely-in-my-head dream I had a few months ago about taking the bus in London (a few months or weeks before we went to London ourselves: it was nothing like in the dream, although I guess the dream was vaguely accurate wrt the Warwickshire area ...)
Went to the Singapore Fireworks Festival (they've changed the name, I know, but I can't be bothered to look up the new one) yesterday night. Good fun. The fireworks were aweinspiring and beautifully done, despite us being in not so ideal a place for watching; but it wasn't horribly bad either. Then had dinner, which was also fun and interesting. Learned how to eat rambuttan, finally.
Okay, house-cleaning time. Better go help the guys. I'll have fireworks photos up later today, hopefully. Ciao!
Labels: dreams, fireworks, today
This post was posted by Unknown at 2:49 pm | 0 comments | Post a Comment
So: I woke up at 6pm, slept at 12mn the next day, then woke up at 5pm the day after that. Apart from being darn near impossible to translate into anything resembling a normal work schedule, this implies an 18 hour work day, followed by a 17 hour work 'night'. I have no idea if this is even possibly supposed to be sustainable.
Pan is coming along fine, and Objective C is really a beautiful language to work with. I hope I can pull off working with it more, although I don't entirely see how that's possible.
I also have to call home tonight, which obviously I'm enormously nervous about. What could they possibly want to say that they haven't said before? Why now? Oh god.
Labels: objective c, sleep, today, work
This post was posted by Unknown at 5:18 pm | 0 comments | Post a Comment
So, here we are again.
Just finished catching up with Order of the Stick. My planned recovery from my sleep snafu isn't going fantastically well, what with me being up at 5am (awoke at 3ish or so, after getting to sleep around midnight). What this means, apart from I'm going to be really groggy at my interview later this morning, is that I'm going to be horribly out of it all of today. I mean, I'm seriously behind on my sleeping here. All I've been doing in the last twenty-four hours is: (1) sleeping, (2) trying not to sleep, (3) trying to sleep. And what's it all for? For three friggin' hours of sleep. Oh my sainted aunt.
The good news is, I'm out of the house - one way or another! - in exactly one hour. And I'm back in - again, one way etc. - before lunch, giving me time to contemplate or - more likely, like - forget everything to do with today morning.
Labels: jobhunting, today
This post was posted by Unknown at 5:14 am | 0 comments | Post a Comment
If you missed Contradiction III yesterday (you really missed something, n00b), here's a list of what you missed. I took details off the little pamphlet they handed out, but the summaries are entirely my own, and I apologize profusely if I got anybody confused with anyone else, or if I misremembered something.
Subtitle: a queer literary reading curated by Ng Yi-Sheng.
All in all, a really fun experience; the sausages were nice and the chillies awesome. The audience was relaxed and laid back, and laughed in all the right places. Really a great way to spend a Sunday night.
Tonight, with luck: the Simpsons movie!
Labels: contradiction, indignation, singapore, today
This post was posted by Unknown at 11:28 am | 0 comments | Post a Comment
Seen on Slashdot:
imagine my surprise (Score:5, Funny) by friedman101 (618627) on Tuesday July 31, @12:10AM (#20043793)After the market damage from last week my broker sent me this IM IN UR PORTFOLIO SHORTING UR GUGULS
As usual, the sheer amount of internet-based urban/geek subculture you need to be aware of to understand this joke is astounding.
I had a very nice day today, and can only hope I remember enough about it to make a good blog post tomorrow.
Labels: funny, hilarious, really funny, today
This post was posted by Unknown at 10:31 pm | 0 comments | Post a Comment