www.flickr.com

Latestest

This can usually be found on Twitter.

Monday, June 02, 2008

 
Oh and another thing

Saw Ferris Bueller's Day Off again today, after absolutely forever. Such joyful film-making and acting! Still undecided about whether to buy the DVD (or rather, when to buy the DVD), but probably sooner rather than later, the Amazon-purchase-hold holding back things for a while, though, thankfully. Still, the Ferrari's final scene is one of the few completely laugh-out-loud scenes in moviedom as far as I'm concerned, and so many cute scenes make up the movie - Cameron giggling when caught looking at Sloane naked, the view from the tower, the scene in the restaurant, and the fantastic parade sequence (oh shake it up, baby now ... !), which is only helped by the vocal contribution of Messrs Lennon and company.

I also saw A Shot in the Dark, and - so far - am fairly disappointed. I don't suppose I'll ever appreciate Mr. Edwards' comedy style, and Mr. Sellers seems too unsurefooted and off his usual genius to really make Clouseau work in this movie. Oh well; I suspect the second half might be better. I'm starting to appreciate Mr. Chaplin's movies more in retrospect, particularly "Modern Times", which I've been wishing to re-see. Compared to Mr. Edwards' long, drawn-out comedic situations in which coincidence, accident and surprise lead to the funnies, Mr. Chaplin's tightly knit gags, taking a normal, everyday occurance and exaggerating it beyond belief into supernatural funnies gets me happier. Oh well, perhaps it's best not to think too much about these things, merely to laugh and move on; perhaps?

Also, also: tried to call a friend in Bombay tonight. Didn't happen, will call tomorrow, but appear to have missed my cousin brother yet again. Oh well, so it goes. Another week can't hurt, and perhaps I will e-mail him instead or goodness gracious me write? Suddenly everything seems so possible again, somehow! The logical combination of Ferris Bueller and Evangelion, perhaps? Haha, craziness.

Since I've gone on this long: a friend of mine also wrote a pretty funny entry on her blog just now. Go read!

Labels: , , ,

This post was posted by Unknown at 1:06 am | 0 comments | Post a Comment

Saturday, May 31, 2008

 
300

... is on the television screen, and although they just did the "front two lines of the phalanx runs out, kills soldier after soldier, then wanders back later when they need to get back into formation", it's still a fantastic movie, and I'm glad I saw it on the big screen. Gladness! Tomorrow (or sometime this week), I'll be seeing "Assassination of Jesse James", and perhaps becoming very unhappy that I didn't see it on the big screen. So it goes.

Still, for now: Xerxes just showed up (man, that's a cool voice), and although the television ghosts hide all the gory bits, there's still tons of fan to be had (sequence of war rhinoceros being disabled into the ground at the Spartan's feet).

What else is there to do? At the moment, precious little; but you never know when something will pop up out of the woodwork.

Labels: , ,

This post was posted by Unknown at 11:56 pm | 0 comments | Post a Comment

Monday, May 26, 2008

 
Oh what a day

A vague list

  1. I paid mucho mucho money for .Mac, and promptly felt very guilty. I'm not going to pull the move-all-my-money-out-of-my-account-before-they-debit trick this time, though, I have to stop making spontaneous online purchases with the power of my mind. Was very disappointed that I could publish my calendar but not make it private. Anyway, it came in use with an hour, because of me sending TaxonDNA somewhere by e-mail (just under 800kb), and Gmail refused to send such nonsense (probably because it contained an executable, not because it was too big), but .Mac was happy to do it. I guess it's nice having paid-for e-mail again, after years of free e-mail :).

    Of course, if iWeb is nice and I finally move my blog off Blogger ... well!

  2. I found out OMG somebody has made a Saramago movie! It's Blindness, which I'd definitely like to watch, particularly the latter half of the book, but I'm glad there's atleast one out there now. It premiered at Cannes, and will release in Singapore in September. Initial reviews are disappointing, alas. Can't have everything, and something's better than nothing!
  3. Another of my friends' folks are moving to Singapore. Everybody's doin' it!
  4. Twitter is sweet. This post began (in my mind) as a Tweeter post, before expanding to present form.
  5. Watched Indiana Jones and the Forgettable Title on GVmax. Good things: watching all that effects on a nice, big screen, which nice sounds and all; most of the acting was handled okay (I found the Shia kid irritating as usual, but he kinda stops talking halfway through the movie, and then he's okay), there were cool walking-around-in-caves-finding-things scenes, and the camera work was nice. Bad things: the skull was "magnetic" (no it wasn't, atleast not consistently), the underlying plot idea wasn't so much plotted as vaguely scribbled, and every single CGI animal just looked weird. But I thought Karen Allen looked hot, so what do I know.
  6. Got stomach-sick eating movie food. Was too slow getting from theatre to bus-stop and missed bus, had to take cab. Didn't have cash, and NETS and Credit Card wasn't working. So I had to go the MRT and withdraw from the ATM. But the cab-driver-uncle was really sweet about it, and offered to drive me from the MRT back to my home without charge. Didn't take him up on it, but thanks all the same cab-uncle!

Okay, doesn't have anything to do with anything, but I always thought that Wallace Line was creepily cool. Now: on to tomorrow!

Labels: , , ,

This post was posted by Unknown at 1:27 am | 0 comments | Post a Comment

Saturday, February 16, 2008

 
The Life and Death of Peter Sellers

Just saw The Life and Death of Peter Sellers on DVD just now. Good movie? Bad movie? Hard to tell - I roughly agree with a review I saw at the IMDb (which I can't find now, dagnabit), which said that it wasn't that great a movie, but it was competently done and seemed to do a good job of bringing Mr. Sellers to life.

But, oh man. Oh the loneliness. You end up feeling all the wretchedness and sadness and ... tinyness, I guess, maybe. One of the cunning tricks the movie - and I do wish (as usual) that they'd left the deleted scenes in! - played was by simply not letting you care about anybody other than Peter. The narcissism - and the sincere inability to deal with others - is palpable.

Listening to the Goons also gives you a bit more perspective on the lines: there's a scene where Peter is standing at the top of a staircase at the premiere of The Revenge of the Pink Panther (I think?), and he says something like "Thank you for coming, everybody" - as Bluebottle!

But I also agree that a movie about Peter Sellers' life ought to have been a bit funnier. Ah well, ah well - after long chats with several (i.e. more than one) friends online, I'm feeling a bit more prepped on life. So: do I admit it's getting better? Not unless my war-mongering skills on Civilization 4 don't improve!

Labels: , , ,

This post was posted by Unknown at 4:07 am | 0 comments | Post a Comment

Sunday, February 10, 2008

 
Walk

So, managed to go on a nice, long walk again last time - not as long as last time, though, because I went out a whole lot later (last week was about 10kms, this week is 8.746 km, according to Google Earth and the Path Measurement Tool. It was a most satisfying walk, because:

Alas, it all ended kind of badly, as I accidentally deleted all the photographs I took on the walk, and later developed a rather nasty stomach upset which took until Thursday (the day I'm editing this) to get rid of, and necessitated a very pointless trip to the doctor's. Nasty, nasty.

So. That's about it for now, I think.

Labels: , ,

This post was posted by Unknown at 11:14 pm | 0 comments | Post a Comment

Saturday, September 22, 2007

 
The Road Ahead

Read that, and tell me it doesn't give you the creeps. Could this be the internet of tomorrow?

Suddenly the TV channels were kind to me, and presented me with Crazy/Beautiful (which was nice and cute and teen movie-ie, if a little bland and zomg that was an odd ending ...), and Where The Truth Lies (which was, to some extent, the opposite: all spice and no substance; but Kevin Bacon and the lead were really good, Colin Firth pulled his role off beautifully, making up for Bridget Jones' Diary somewhat, and the plot was convoluted enough to hold my interest ...), so I should consider myself lucky, I guess.

Y'know, on second thought, it's probably just 'cos I stayed up late .. staying up late is such sweet sorrow, or, y'know, like the sweet, just without the sorry. Or something. I'm not even that sleepy now, but it's 4:30am, so, erm. Yeah. Anyways. Y'know. Life's like that, sometimes. Late night movies are the bestest. Wish I'd had a chance to play the Sims though, but hey; you win some, you lose some.

Good night.

Labels: , , , ,

This post was posted by Unknown at 4:14 am | 0 comments | Post a Comment

Tuesday, August 28, 2007

 
Black Cloud!

Black Cloud is on Star Movies again. I think the acting and direction and music are all atleast okay-ish, but the dialogue? Zomg! In my opinion, it's worthy of Keanu Reeves. "I love you", "I love you more". what?! Seriously. And that's some of the better dialogue. I wish there was a website with quotes from this movie online somewhere, but I can't find one. Which makes sense, who would want to write that dialogue down?

I bet some fans are going to show up and start cussing me up about this now. Ah well, can't have everything, I guess.

Labels: , ,

This post was posted by Unknown at 4:22 pm | 0 comments | Post a Comment

Monday, July 30, 2007

 
I for one

... get really, seriously creeped out every time anybody shoves his (or her) gun down their pants. I mean, seriously, those are tight jeans! And that's a loaded weapon! In your pants! Pointed at your groin!

Maybe it's like memories of Eight Mile or something. Brr.

In other news, today was boring. Again. And I didn't really feel like Civ-ing or anything. So basically was just sitting around feeling sorry for myself. Oh, and finishing catching up on QC, so now I've got to wait to see what happens next, just like everybody else. Man, what a pain.

Borrowed movies at half-price today (yay VideoEzy!). Hope to go back tomorrow for me, as it's the last day for half-price rentals (but only if you've gotten this extra-special SMS, I should probably add before you all run down at once). Which makes me feel a little better, I guess. Hmn, hmn.

I will finally get to see The Godfather, though, so it's not all bad. I guess.

Plan for the evening: call Anu, watch movie, take bath, go sleep. Mmmm, sleep.

Zomg interview tomorrow! Let's see how it goes. The key, as always, is to not panic.

Labels: , , ,

This post was posted by Unknown at 8:39 pm | 0 comments | Post a Comment

Wednesday, June 27, 2007

 
Insomnia's gifts

Okay, first the really big news: my MacBook Pro (tentatively named "Bathsheba", or daughter of the oath) should be shipping within the week, which means that by next weekend or so, she should be in my hands, and then the fun can really begin, I hope. Also, I'm getting a bit of time off at the moment, since most of my labmates are out of town on conference. Things should get a whole lot dodgier next week, though.

I was hoping that the lack of stress (relative lack of stress?) might help with my weakness fits/heartburn issues, but no such luck. Had a major double whammy yesterday/today (slept early yesterday night, woke up at 2 with usual heartburn, stayed up until morning, then went back to sleep, had weird dreams. Woke up feeling awful, ate a bit, hung around at home until eight-ish when I had a pretty bad attack of the weakness. Like, I walked over to the food court slightly shivering, and guzzled by cola up pretty bad. Rest of the day (popping over to lab, then to SPS, then Clementi, and then back home) was fine, except for the staying-up-all-night bit. I'm not sure what to do about that; try and keep going for the rest of the day, or just forget about it and go to sleep, possibly with the aircon running.

One nice thing about all this is the further strengthening of my position that a "normal" job is just not going to work out for me. I'm feeling pretty weak as I write this, but atleast I don't have anywhere to go tomorrow, I don't have omg-I'm-going-to-be-late anxiety or anything. Well, a bit. Sigh. I don't know, maybe it's all just a bit of a waste.

Maybe it's like some kind of reverse depression. Maybe I need to be happy more. Maybe I ought to get out more.

One nice thing about staying up odd nights is being able to watch late night movies on TV. So far I've managed to catch Grizzly Man (in two parts) and My Date with Drew. They're both really amazing movies, and I'm really glad for the chance to "meet" Timothy Treadwell and Brian Herzlinger.

I wonder who I'll have the pleasure of bumping into next?

Labels: , ,

This post was posted by Unknown at 5:27 am | 0 comments | Post a Comment

Monday, March 12, 2007

 
Quickly, now

I'll make this fast, because I've got to be to bed, there's work to be done and so on. 'Twas a nice weekend, watched 300 (the movie) with a whole bunch of friends, and their friends, and their friend's friends, and so on. For my money, it was one heck of a movie, beautiful visuals telling what is - at the end of the day - one heck of a story. Before the which, we had a fairly satisfactory, possibly final webadmin course, which was followed by a long and extremely pointless conversation, the type I seem to have fewer and fewer of each day (or perhaps I have so many pointless conversations at home that having some outside of here is a big thing).

I've (finally) started thinking about what to do, post June 2007. I have to schedule some time to just try different things this time, I just have to. I'm sorry. Computer programming and system administration-type stuff and all is nice enough, but there's gotta be something better than this. The nice thing is, even if the whole grad school thing gets underway, there's still a convenient gap between end-June (when my contract ends) and next year sometime, when I'll either get in or not.

What'll I do? I don't know, anything; anything, really, will do. Something I can wake up late for, that's for sure.

Labels: , , , ,

This post was posted by Unknown at 3:21 am | 0 comments | Post a Comment

Friday, March 02, 2007

 
Hello!

Ifty and I had a competition to see how many actors we could recognize from the Apple iPhone "Hello" advertisement. Ifty beat me 11 to 5. The final tally:

Seriously, 5:11 against Ifty in movie trivia is not bad! And apparently we're going to be making a movie soon. Stay tuned.

Labels: , , ,

This post was posted by Unknown at 4:16 pm | 0 comments | Post a Comment

Sunday, February 25, 2007

 
Jumping for joy?

Is there anybody else who gets put off by the blatant collectivist attitudes in the new Jumping for Joy ad? (It's playing in all the buses and so on, but you can also see it online (it's called "Jumping for Joy"). One of the things I liked about the old Total Defense ads was their focus on "each person doing their part", and ... sigh. Never mind. I suppose one must keep in mind that there are downsides to living on this island, too.

Saw Half Nelson in the theatre, then EuroTrip. Finished my wine. Shiraz is fine, if little strong, but the taste is amazing.

I'm woke up at 3:30pm or so, which is a bit of a bummer. Means I'll have to do a lot of physical stuff to be able to get back to sleep on anything approaching normal time. Which probably means working on the family website is out of the question today, non?

Ah, well. Pehle snaan, baaki sab uske bad.

Labels: , , ,

This post was posted by Unknown at 3:20 pm | 0 comments | Post a Comment

Friday, February 23, 2007

 
Singaporean movies

Singaporean student films. And another Singaporean film (I think?).

Sigh. Such is life, sometimes.

Labels: , ,

This post was posted by Unknown at 4:55 pm | 0 comments | Post a Comment